August 2013: Letter from the president – New slate up for vote at CAMP

The transition to fall requires a fresh look at the calendar, including the start of school for my daughter, the holiday celebrations with friends and family and, of course, JAWS CAMP. I am looking forward to exploring Vermont for a few days before the conference starts and then reconnecting with all of you during what promises to be a great event.

Don’t forget to register online and call the hotel (802-878-1100) to make your reservation with a special rate for JAWS before October 1.

Highlights of the three-day weekend schedule include training on visual storytelling, healthcare reporting, food policy politics, data reporting and funding your dream journalism project. Plus, we are thrilled to have New York Times Executive Editor Jill Abramson as our keynote speaker, Merrill Perlman on tap to tell “Reporters Without Editors” how to avoid embarrassing mistakes and Jacqui Banaszynski giving tips about the art of the interview. Take advantage of all this while experiencing lovely autumn colors and beautiful scenery with a stay at The Essex Culinary Resort & Spa in Essex, Vt., near Burlington. Registration, which is $375 for members, includes most meals.

Our ambitions for CAMP and for growing our organization, now at 700 members, would not come to fruition without the tremendous efforts of our volunteer board, and I am so proud of what we have accomplished in recent years. I’m also pleased to present a quality slate of candidates for the next board. You will be asked to vote on this slate at the general membership meeting on Oct. 27.

The slate of candidates includes:

  • President Lauren Whaley
  • Vice President Susy Schultz
  • Deputy Vice President Nancy Day
  • Treasurer Jessica Rettig
  • Secretary Kimberly Johnson
  • General Board member Adrienne Lawrence
  • General Board member Judy Miller
  • General Board member Donna Myrow
  • General Board member Paro Pain
  • General Board member Hilary Powell
  • General Board member Erin Siegal
  • General Board member Rachel Louise Snyder
  • General Board member Kira Zalan

Remaining on the board to complete their two-year terms are Karen Cheung-Larivee, Jennifer DePaul, Sarah Pollock and Lisen Stromberg. Going off the board, with many thanks for their service, will be Andrea Stone, Mary C. Curtis, Gwyneth Doland, Sandra Fish, Peg Simpson and me.

See you at CAMP! —Kat